Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

AASHTO Journal

Association President Taps ALDOT’s Conner to Chair Maintenance, TSP2 Committees

AASHTO President David Bernhardt has appointed George Conner of the Alabama Department of Transportation to chair both the Committee on Maintenance and the Oversight Panel for AASHTO's technical service program on Transportation System Preservation, also known as TSP2.

Conner, who joined the Alabama department in 1992, became its deputy director of operations in December after earlier service as state maintenance engineer and regional engineer.

dollarpump.jpgHis activity at AASHTO has included membership in the committee overseeing the National Transportation Product Evaluation Program.

Conner's appointment leading the maintenance committee comes during a major change in AASHTO's committee structure. That panel until now has been the Highways Subcommittee on Maintenance, but is transitioning this year into a full committee. His term as chair extends through the association's 2019 annual meeting.

His appointment chairing the Transportation System Preservation also runs for two years. That program, which like all association TSPs provides added value to member DOTs that choose to support it, serves as a clearinghouse of information on effective preservation measures for highway pavement and bridges to enhance their performance and extend their useful life.

As with all presidential appointments, these are subject to formal adoption by the AASHTO Executive Committee when its members next meet in May.

Questions regarding this article may be directed to