AASHTO Journal

Webinar to Spell Out Changes in 2017 Competition for America’s Transportation Awards

The association's communications team will use a March 21 webinar to explain important changes that are taking effect this year in the annual America's Transportation Awards competition.

Those interested in participating can register here.

capitol0816.jpgThe awards sponsors – AASHTO, the AAA motor club and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce – are taking nominations through April 14 from state departments of transportation for their best infrastructure projects or agency programs that were completed during 2016. Regional award winners will be announced this summer, and the 12 that earn the top ratings will then compete for two national prizes.

But the contest categories changed somewhat this year, as did the online voting rules for the national People's Choice award. As before, a panel of expert judges will determine the winner of the other national award – the Grand Prize.

Explaining it all during the webinar will be AASHTO Communications Director Lloyd Brown, Web Business Manager David Dubov-Flinn and Communications Manager Maggie Kasperski, who is AASHTO's point person for the awards this year.

The webinar is the latest in a series offered to the public by the AASHTO Transportation Communications subcommittee known as TransComm, which also maintains past webinars for later viewing on its website.

Anyone with questions about the webinar or the 2017 awards competition can contact Kasperski by email, mkasperski@aashto.org, or by phone at 202-624-3659.

Questions regarding this article may be directed to editor@aashtojournal.org.

Recommended Stories

Voting Opens for ‘Faces of Transportation' Contest

Online voting is now underway to decide the People's Choice Award winner in the annual Faces of Transportation photography and video contest sponsored by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials.

July 27, 2018

Committee on Construction Appoints New Chair, Vice Chair

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials recently appointed Dallas Hammit and Amy Tootle as the chair and vice chair, respectively, for the group's committee on construction, which ensures that AASHTO's guide to specifications for construction is kept up-to-date with...

July 27, 2018

AASHTO Seeking Finance Specialist

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, an equal opportunity employer, is currently seeking to hire a finance specialist to support internal office administration at its Washington, D.C., headquarters.

July 27, 2018

Past Issues

Issue Date: